Dark-i.com jumping the stylegala train?

Geplaatst in Internet, Webdesign Nog geen reacties

Looks like someone got interested in selling their site too now that Stylegala.com is about to sell for over $40k (current highest bid on Sitepoint Marketplace). DarkEye is a new breed of ‘living’ web design showcase. You’re in control: you rate, review and submit sites that instantly appear in front of thousands potential users. Alot like the dozens of other CSS galleries but this one is different, I visited frequently and must say that the fresh design (who was it that said gray was the new black??) made it a welcome change to the common stylegala and cssvault like galleries. The color palette integration is very usefull too!

If you are interested and have $5k laying around you should check this thead on the Sitepoint marketplace.

Edit: Looks like DarkEye isn’t the only one being inspired by the Stylegala sale … CSS Elite is another one for sale on Sitepoint Marketplace … Now lets just hope this isn’t becoming a trend.


Stylegala for sale

Geplaatst in Internet, Webdesign Reeds 2 reacties

Stylegale is for sale!! I was shocked when i read this on the sitepoint marketplace. Not that it’s a bad thing, sometimes selling your site actually can improve it, fresh ideas could make it a better site. But still … stylegale is a site i frequent regulary and to see it up for sale makes me wish i had the money to buy it …

Maybe you are interested?
view sitepoints marketplace


OMFG Netvibes!!!

Geplaatst in Blogging, Internet, Web 2.0 Nog geen reacties

My oh my, just when I thought Netvibes couldn’t get any better (virtually speaking) they release Netvibes Anise version.

What’s in a name you say … well in this one there’s alot. Netvibes just got so so much better. They added tabbed pages, speeded up RSS feeds, added icons (Famfamfam icons rule) and hover captions for feed posts, you can now aggregate feeds requiring authentication which means you can add all kinds of info to your netvibes startpage. There is simply too much to tell about … just go check for yourself!

Netvibes just got a worthy alternative to Bloglines as my main feedreader with their Anise version.


Taken, taken, taken … all taken

Geplaatst in Internet Nog geen reacties

Accidentally bumped into this interesting blogpost about domain names and their availability. It’s frightening to see the numbers Dennis Forbes comes up with.

I’ve noticed this first hand a few weeks ago when I was looking for a domainname for a future project of mine. After two days of searching and alternating words in my domainname i just decided that i’d reverse the process and name my website after the domainname I found. Here are some quoted numbers.

If you want one of the 676 possible two-letter sequences, for instance for an acronym or abbreviation, you’re out of luck: They’re all taken.

That’s not so weird, there are only 676 possibilities you see …

Of the 17,576 possible three-letter sequences, again every single one is already taken.

Doh!

Adding digits to the mix, giving 46,656 permutations, yields a larger number of garbage domain entries (either REGISTRAR-LOCKED, REDEMPTIONPERIOD, or with no nameservers), giving a false hope of 228 seemingly open domains, yet they aren’t actually available.

Now i’m about to faint …

Read the full article one Dennis Forbes’ website.


Marketingsnake? Ripoff snake rather!

Geplaatst in Internet Reeds 5 reacties

Got this email message in my inbox today, it’s in Dutch:

From: Andrea [Stephanie.*****@gmail.com]
Sent: zondag 29 januari 2006 4:04
To: **********
Subject: Uw website helemaal vooraan bij Google Uw website helemaal vooraan bij

Wij brengen uw website op de beste posities bij Google, Yahoo en MSN Search!

www.marketingsnake.com

Met ons belandt uw website helemaal vooraan bij Google!

Met vriendelijke groet,
www.marketingsnake.com

Mocht u geen e-mail von ons wensen te ontvangen, stuur a.u.b. een e-mail
aan: snakeabmelden@yahoo.com.ar

Deze newsletter wordt naar het adres *********** gestuurd.

Do they really believe I can get to the top of google and the likes with this kind of junk? What kind of people are the idiots behind these companies? Spammers? Don’t think so since they have their phonenumber and address on their website. Talking about their website, it’s a complete soup of <font> <table> and <frame> tags, along with the nice but failed attempt to use definition lists for their forms. And the spelling isn’t that great either.

I just hope someone reads this and changes his mind on using these kind of companies for webmarketing, search for professionals instead, or at least someone who has read a book on SEO!

Little update, as of today 2nd of februari 2006 i can officially say that googling for marketing snake gives this very page as nr 1 result … and guess which comes in second? Marketingsnake, the professional SEO company. Duh! How’s that for free publicity marketingsnake?